Hellsing Volume 2 by Kohta Hirano (2004)

Description: A world of murder and mayhem, political intrigue and religious conflict, monsters and undead heroes boils beneath the radar of regular existence. And it’s bomb-grade business! There’s the cute little police girl, Victoria, a recently turned vampire, who refuses to drink blood and become the real thing (but she’s still a darn good fighter); this super swank super-vampire Alucard, who hasn’t completely shown his abilities; and the old butler Walter, who’s got some tricks under his toruses as well. This is but a taste of the characters killing and being killed in Hellsing, and the action is just beginning.

Review: In this second installment, we follow Alucard and Police Girl on their further adventures and battles against the evil Vatican. The story and artwork continue to dazzle me. I really am enjoying this series. My only gripe is that the character of Police Girl is somewhat dim. I think she could be improved upon, but we shall see as I get further on in the series. I especially love the weaponry displayed in this series. They are very creative and I can’t wait to see what Hirano comes up with next.

Score: 4 out of 5

Movie Connection: As stated before, there is an anime series (by the same name) that you need to check out if you are at all enjoying this manga series.

Hellsing (2001)

Hellsing follows the antiheroic vampire, Alucard, and a police girl-turned-vampire, Seras Victoria, two vampires employed by the vampire-extermination group of England, the Hellsing Organization. Slowly but surely, through their active duty, they find a new breed of vampires beginning to arise.  Hellsing Synopsis – Anime News Network

About Michelle

I'm a Midwest girl who has landed herself on the east coast. I spend my days in libraryland. My passion/specialty is graphic novels, manga, and anime. For a few weekends of the year you will find me at an anime convention somewhere on the east coast.

One response »

  1. J. Kaye Oldner says:

    Stopping by all my favorite blogs to wish you a Happy Thanksgiving! 🙂

    J. Kaye

Leave a Reply

