Storm Front (Dresden Files, Book 1) by Jim Butcher (2000)

Description: Harry Dresden is the best at what he does. Well, technically, he’s the only at what he does. So when the Chicago P.D. has a case that transcends mortal creativity or capability, they come to him for answers. For the “everyday” world is actually full of strange and magical things–and most of them don’t play well with humans. That’s where Harry comes in. Takes a wizard to catch a–well, whatever.

There’s just one problem. Business, to put int mildly, stinks. So when the police bring him in to consult on a grisly double murder committed with black magic, Harry’s seeing dollar signs. But where there’s black magic, there’s a black mage behind it. And now that mage knows Harry’s name. And that’s when things start to get… interesting.

Review: I finally gave this series a shot and was pleasantly surprised. I absolutely loved Butcher’s style. I was laughing out loud at Dresden’s sarcasm. It was a complete delight to read this book. Another reason I like this book so much is that it takes place almost at home for me. I know the area so it really feels like home. Storm Front is action packed from beginning to end and a fabulous story. I highly recommend it.

Score: 5 out of 5

Television Connection: In 2007, the SciFi Channel came out with a television series based on Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files. I haven’t personally seen this series, but am interested to see how close to the books it follows.

The Dresden Files (2007)

About Michelle

I'm a Midwest girl who has landed herself on the east coast. I spend my days in libraryland. My passion/specialty is graphic novels, manga, and anime. For a few weekends of the year you will find me at an anime convention somewhere on the east coast.

Leave a Reply

